23
Aug
08

‘bones’ mac ‘n cheese

As I mentioned in my last post, we’ve recently become fans of the medical/crime drama Bones. This is only to be expected as we are already fans of every other imaginable medical or crime drama. Apparently we’re quite easy to entertain. Anyhow, in one of the episodes there is mention of a restaurant that puts pancetta and leeks in their mac ‘n cheese and it is supposedly quite good, so I thought I’d give it a go. I kept it simple and just added pancetta and leeks to my trusty Better Homes and Gardens mac ‘n cheese recipe, and we loved the results. So here’s the recipe for mac ‘n cheese a la Bones.

1 cup dried elbow macaroni
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
pepper
1 1/4 cups milk
6 oz american cheese
3 leeks, sliced
6-8 oz pancetta (I used the thin sliced kind, but if you were to cube a thicker cut I think that would be better)

Cook macaroni in unsalted water about 10 minutes or until tender but still firm. Drain well.

For the cheese sauce, in a medium saucepan cook onion, leeks, and pancetta in the butter till onions and leeks are tender and the pancetta is a bit crispy. Stir in flour and pepper. Add milk all at once. Cook and stir till slightly thickened and bubbly. Add american cheese, stirring till melted. Stir in cooked macaroni. Transfer mixture to a 1-quart casserole.

Bake in a 350 oven for 25 to 30 minutes or till hot and bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.


3 Responses to “‘bones’ mac ‘n cheese”


  1. August 25, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Mmm! that sounds good! I’ve been craving mac and cheese a lot lately, but I’m the one who’ll eat it here. Also, I’ll check out Bones. I think I’ve seen most of the CSI: LV and Pushing Daisies & Scrubs don’t come out on DVD for awhile. Right now we’re watching the last season of House and the first of Psych. I like tv shows because they are better time slot then a movie!

  2. August 25, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    B loves mac ‘n cheese and will eat a full two cups if we let her. Fortunately, she needs the calories so I have no problem indulging her in that. 😉

    Recent episodes of Bones are available online and it does pretty well as stand-alone episodes so you could easily get a taste of it that way. I’d describe it as a kind of cross between x-files (the male/female partner relationship there) and NCIS (the great interaction and humor and more intimate/familial nature of the characters). Amen on the TV show length too – that’s my afternoon break when B goes to bed – whatever new episode is available online!

  3. 3 Fran Pelletier
    January 15, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    You forgot the nutmeg Bones added nutmeg to hers


Leave a comment


Categories