23
Jul
09

Crostini with Avocado and Green Pea Hummus

We’ve been busy. I promise.  But we did find the time to try out these babies taken from Nigella Express and they are mmm, mmm, good! I couldn’t find the pumpernickel bread anywhere in Moscow (Idaho) where I was making them, so I just used a regular old baguette and toasted slices in the oven prior to making the avocado/pea mixture. I may have also topped them with some fresh ground pepper. I can’t help it, pepper is the best season out there! My father in law (we were visiting them) was teasing me about making “Scarlet Lillie stuff” as I prepared these. I told him that they were way to simple to post. In retrospect, I knew that is exactly why I needed to post them.

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • ½ clove garlic, minced
  • 2 4.9-oz cans sweet green peas, drained
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt or ½ teaspoon table salt
  • 30 small pumpernickel rounds or 8 regular pumpernickel slices, each cut into 4 little squares

Directions

Spoon out the flesh of the avocado and put it in a food processor; add the lime juice and the garlic.

Add the drained peas and salt and then process until you have a Kermit-colored puree.

Spread the pumpernickel rounds softly with the avocado and pea mixture and arrange on a large platter for serving.

3 Responses to “Crostini with Avocado and Green Pea Hummus”


  1. August 6, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    This stuff really was fantastic, and it tastes much more complex than it really is. Makin’ me hungry just thinking about it!

  2. September 22, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Huh. I made these on Friday night and they tasted nothing like the delicacies that you served to us. Next time I’m flying you out to show me what I’m doing wrong.


Leave a Reply

Categories


