17
Mar
09

baking things

I’ll start off with this slightly misshapen loaf of banana bread that was oh-so yummy. I got into a little baking spree last week and this was the first of my endeavors. The recipe is courtesy of Dani Callihan in Hot Providence.
banana-bread
Best Banana Bread

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
3 ripe bananas
3/4 cup milk (I substituted a little buttermilk for fun)
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Cream the butter, sugar, eggs and bananas well. Combine the milk and lemon juice. Add this to your creamed mixture, alternating with the flour, baking soda and salt. Pour into a well greased loaf baking pan and bake at 350 for 45 to 50 minutes (mine took more like 60-70 minutes). Do the toothpick test to make sure it’s done. Slather it up with some butter and enjoy!

In other news, here’s my other ‘baking’ project. Little Eva is growing steadily and quickly, and I can’t believe we’re down to two and a half months!
belly

4 Responses to “baking things”


  1. March 17, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Your belly is fabulous!! Way to go!! –the banana bread looks good, too. 😉 I always have to add chocolate chips, though. Like peanut butter and chocolate, banana bread is made for decadence. I haven’t done a smidge of baking or cooking in the last couple of days because Ben’s parents were here and when they weren’t making us delicious meals, they were treating us to dinner out. I did have a bread-gone-wild experience last week that I should probably post, though.

  2. 2 swingerofbirches
    March 18, 2009 at 5:51 am

    I’ve made that banana bread a few times since purchasing Hot Providence and it is one of our favorites–well worth posting about. And you look great! We are very happy for you all and I remember you in my prayers. You’re on the home stretch!

  3. 3 ladyrita
    March 25, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I love Hot Providence!

    You belly looks amazing! I’m going the other direction now, trying to convince my belly that the baby is out. 🙂

  4. April 4, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Your tum looks amazing! (Much more babyish than mine, which is bulgy in other directions as well.) If I wasn’t prioritizing the baby’s room right now, I’d definitely try the banana bread.:)


Leave a Reply

Categories


