04
Mar
09

Panini with Chocolate and Brie

A new favorite in our house. Ophelia was impressed that I was actually serving chocolate for dinner. I pulled this one out of my Giada’s  cookbook. (Which is, by the way, one of my new top cookbooks. It features beautiful pictures and good recipes. I also made tomato soup out of it, and while I did end up putting in about 5x the garlic, it was still really yummy!) But if you use the Food Network, it is also up on their site.  For this recipe I used my mini George Foreman since I didn’t have an actual panini press lying around. I’m sure you could just fry it up on a frying pan or on an outdoor grill. Be sure to scrape off any cheese or chocolate that seeps out before grilling another snadwhich. It would be a travesty to ruin these babies with burnt drippings. For ours, I didn’t pre-brown the bread. I just loaded it up and grilled the whole thing at once to save time, it worked fine. Also, cut up the sandwiches however you want. For dinner, Ben and I each had one, but for lunches, snacks or hors d’oeuvers, halves or quarters would be more appropriate.

Ingredients

12 slices sourdough bread
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
12 ounces Brie cheese, thinly sliced
1 (12-ounce) bag semisweet chocolate chips
1/3 cup thinly sliced fresh basil leaves

Directions

Preheat the panini grill.

Brush both sides of the bread with olive oil. Grill the bread slices until they begin to turn golden, about 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the panini grill and place 2 ounces of cheese on 1 slice of bread (the bottom half), top the cheese with 1/3 cup chocolate chips, and a sprinkle of basil. Top with another slice of bread. Continue with the remaining sandwiches. Return the sandwiches to the panini grill until the chocolate begins to melt, about another 2 minutes.

0 Responses to “Panini with Chocolate and Brie”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


