02
Mar
09

Freecycle.org

It a network of yahoo groups, sorted by city and state. You post what you are giving away or what you need for free and people in your area respond. I’ve been able to clear out some of the clutter in my home  and when I put out a want ad for fabric, I got several responses. My favorite was an etsy-er who had a ton of “scrap” pieces left over. She invited me to come over and pick through and take what I wanted. This is what I ended up with.

Most of it is 100% cotton, plus a couple faux silk, some corduroy, and the pile on the left is all flannel. All the scraps are a 1/2 yard or larger (some are 8 yards!!). The former owner said she was thankful to just get it out of her house. She threw in some unused and gently used patterns and told me I could call if I needed any help figuring them out.  Another query of mine yielded a 3 drawer filing cabinet! I suppose the saying is true, one persons trash is someone elses treasure.

1 Response to “Freecycle.org”


  1. March 4, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I LOVE freecycle….so much of the furniture from our house is from there, or nearly free from Craigslist. Plus I have been able to give away a steady supply of moving boxes (from my AVON orders).


Leave a Reply

Categories


