16
Feb
09

Simple Dress

I’ve been eying those cute pillowcase dresses for sometime. The trouble being that I have yet to find a pillowcase that wouldn’t look like a pillowcase to make a dress out of. Yesterday, I decided to try and make one from scratch. I just found this video on youtube and improvised. The fabric is some my mother in law bought for me at Walmart two years ago to make an apron out of. I have the pattern all cut out, I just haven’t gotten around to finishing it yet (I’m notorious for starting projects and not finishing them). I just used what was left over (about a half yard) to make this dress.

I used one of Ophelia’s other sundresses to measure the size . The ribbon was one I received as decoration on a gift and I just snipped it into 4 pieces, melted the edges to keep them from fraying and attached it to 2, 3″ sections of elastic I had in my craft basket. All in all, the dress ended up costing well under $5.00 and took me about an hour and a half to make from start to finish (I’m an amateur, so I’m sure you more experienced seamstresses could whip it out in under 30 minutes.)


I think it turned out pretty well if I do say so myself.

1 Response to “Simple Dress”


  1. 1 swingerofbirches
    February 16, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    I love it, you, and the model! Well done! She’ll be living in it all summer long, no doubt.


Leave a Reply

Categories


