07
Feb
09

chicken mozzarella rotini

Yesterday we went out to my parents’ to do some laundry and so that Andrew could have a good place to work on Junebaby’s cradle (it was intended to be B’s, but we didn’t quite finish it before she arrived). My mom was laid up with a nasty head cold, so if we wanted to eat it was going to be up to me. I rummaged around and came up with a sort of white sauce chicken enchilada topping for rotini pasta, and I think it turned out pretty well (I had seconds). So here’s my first publish-able recipe.

4-5 cups cooked rotini pasta or curly egg noodles
2 tbsp. butter
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
freshly ground pepper
1/4-ish cup flour
2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tbsp dried oregano
salt, to taste
2 cans chicken breast pieces/chunks, drained

Saute the onion in the butter in a medium saucepan until it is soft and translucent. Add the red pepper and saute for a minute more. Add some ground pepper and the flour, stirring till it is all incorporated and coats the onion and red pepper. Add milk, stirring to mix. Let simmer for a bit so that it thickens, and then add the mozzarella. At this point it should start to get pretty thick and stringy. I was afraid it was going to be too thick, but Andrew said it could be thicker, so you might want to add some parmesan for extra flavor and thickening. Salt it to taste, and add the chicken, breaking up any large chunks. Cook long enough for the chicken to heat through and then serve atop the cooked pasta. Hope you enjoy!

1 Response to “chicken mozzarella rotini”


  1. 1 knitnonpareil
    February 10, 2009 at 7:08 am

    That sounds fantastic. I think I’ll try it when I get back from my next trip this week. Can’t wait, and thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories


