11
Dec
08

squishy pig

I had an old hand-me-down maternity sweater with a few holes in it, but I couldn’t stand to throw away that cute cable knit. I thought I’d try my hand at making a little stuffed animal for B, and so I went to the Wee Wonderfuls website and found the Pig on Wheels pattern on her freebie page. I doubled the size of the pattern and instead of “pig on wheels” I made it “pig”. I used the cable knit for the main pieces and a bit of left over flannel for the underbelly and ‘inside’ of the ears. Then I stuffed it to the brim with poly-fil to get this little cutie.
pig
The pearl cotton thread that I used to blanket-stitch the pieces together clashes a bit, but I think it gives it an endearing sort of ratty look. And the yellow flannel doesn’t really go either, but once again, endearingly ratty. I had intended for this to be a birthday present for B (who turns the big 3 on Sunday!), but I forgot to hide it away before she woke up from her nap, so she ran out and snatched it off the couch and squeezed it tight and hasn’t let go since. I think she’d been a little jealous that those baby blankets I posted about earlier weren’t for her, so I was glad that she could see me making something that was “just for her”.
b-pig
This is her goofy hammy “smile-for-the-camera” smile by the way.

1 Response to “squishy pig”


  1. December 11, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    That is adorable! I think O has been feeling a smidge edged out by M, too. O started running around the house staking her claim. “Ophelia’s blanket.”, “Ophelia’s chair.”, “Ophelia’s baby.”, “Ophelia’s kitchen.” I’m sure B and O will adjust eventually to the happy promotion of Big Sis.


Leave a Reply

Categories


