09
Dec
08

plans

I want to expand a bit on something that I mentioned in my post announcing our pregnancy. I mentioned that we’ve been praying for this baby since B was about 7 months old, and I want to tell the whole story on that one.

Our plan was to have two kids close together (18 months apart or so), wait two or three years, and then have another one or two (again, close together). We didn’t see any problems with this plan because we had a really easy time getting pregnant with B, so we figured that any subsequent babies would be just as easy to conceive. But as they say, if you want to hear God laugh tell Him your plans.

I thought about telling the whole medical side of the story, but it gets a little technical. Suffice it to say that there was obviously something not right with the way my body was working and so we sought the help of a local OB who specializes a bit in infertility. After being diagnosed with PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) I went on a couple of different medications, namely clomid and metformin. The clomid wasn’t fun and ended up not being the wonder drug that most women claim it is, and we were glad to switch off of it and to the metformin. After 8 months of treatment and OPKs and 18 months of charting my temperature every morning, we found out we were expecting!

“Testing Day” had become a bit of a big deal to me (and my husband). But after months and months of negative results, the excitement and expectations started to wear down a bit. Friday, September 19th came around with surprisingly little anticipation for being T-day. The only thing I really remember leading up to it was lying in bed the night before and commenting to Andrew that if the test came out positive the next morning, we’d have a hard time not telling our friends who we were getting together with for dinner that night. So Friday morning came, and Andrew headed off to work around 5:30 or 6:30 (I don’t remember which). I got up at 7 and almost forgot to grab the test on my way to the bathroom. After taking the test, I set it on the counter and came out to check email and dink around online for the 5 minute wait. I went back into the bathroom and looked down and there were two pink lines. I started crying and went and grabbed my phone and speed dialed Andrew. His initial reaction was that someone must be dying for me to be calling him that early in the morning, and when he answered all he heard was sobbing and blubbering (which made him think even more that someone was dead), but then he heard something about two pink lines and understood what it was all about. We both walked around for the next hour or so (him at work, me at home) saying, “Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh.” We’d been planning this and trying for it for more than two years, and it was such a wonderful surprise.

While our struggle with infertility is over for now, we hope to deal with it again in a few years. I’d like to do a few posts on infertility here on Scarlet Lillies, but I’m very nervous about taking on any sort of “this is how to deal with infertility” type tone. So I might do some posts, and I might not. I probably will post some quotes and verses that were of great blessing to me though. And, if anyone has any questions, particularly about the treatments that I had or PCOS, or the cheapest place to get pregnancy tests (it’s not the dollar store!), feel free to email me (my address is on our “about” page I believe). I’d be happy to answer any questions that I can and I know that it’s always nice to know when there’s someone out there who is going through/gone through the same struggles that you are. And last but not least, rejoice in God’s plans for you. Our plans were apparently off by about two years, but God’s knowledge surpasses ours and I’m much happier having a baby in my belly according to the wisdom of God than an 18 month old according to my own.

2 Responses to “plans”


  1. December 10, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Where *is* the cheapest place to get tests? Not that I’m planning on having another for a looong time. We had plans along the same lines as yours for our family planning. God had His own plans and I’m thankful. The pregnancy was so difficult with Mira, I doubt I would have had the strength if she had “happened” earlier. I’ll second if anyone has questions about my fertility complications (irregular cycles, ovarian cysts and endometrial polyps … and of course hyperemesis gravidarum.) I feel like infertility is such a taboo topic. So many women feel alone and they aren’t. It’s very common. I didn’t know it was even possible to have fertility challenges after having a child. Who knew!

  2. December 10, 2008 at 10:34 am

    The cheapest place that I know of is http://www.early-pregnancy-tests.com/3pregtesstri.html. I got 10 and paid $0.85 for them, but if you order more they’re even cheaper. Of course there’s shipping, but I bought the Pre-Seed 6-pack with free shipping (after two years you’re willing to try anything!). Yeah, people were always surprised when we told them that we were having trouble conceiving #2. They always assumed that since we had B, we must be fine and have no problems! Secondary infertility is a strange thing…


Leave a Reply

Categories


