28
Oct
08

fresh nutmeg

With the cooler weather rolling in and all the baking that is waiting to be done at this wonderful time of the year, I thought I’d let you all in on one of my favorite spices: fresh nutmeg. Now you really have to note the word “fresh” there, because it makes all the difference. This is one of those times where fresh ingredients really take it up a notch.

For grating the nutmeg, I just use my citrus zester, but you could use any micro type grater. Some places will even sell the whole nutmeg in a little jar with a mini grater which can be handy as well. For locals, you can buy whole nutmeg in bulk at the Co-op, which is where I got mine last year. I use it on drinks (think egg nog), in cookies, and in yummy yummy gratins that seem so prevalent this time of year.

0 Responses to “fresh nutmeg”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


