24
Oct
08

baking bread

The cool weather has arrived and that means it’s time to bake bread! I think I vowed last year to begin making all of our bread, but that didn’t last more than a month. But the fall weather makes me want to renew that vow, if only for the house warming benefits and great smell. Last night when it was just us girls here at home, I went ahead and put together a loaf of manchet bread. This time I used about 1/2 whole wheat bread flour (from the bulk bins at Winco for you locals), and 1/2 regular unbleached white. I also gave it an egg wash and sprinkled it with some oat bran right before baking. It came out of the oven around 9:45 last night and was already half gone by the time Andrew and I went to bed. “Whoops”.

2 Responses to “baking bread”


  1. 1 ladyrita
    October 27, 2008 at 6:29 am

    We’re devoted to ‘Childhood Bread’ from Hot Providence. In fact, I’m making it this morning. (Pregnancy makes me more than devoted to the bread, I will die without it some mornings. LOL) But it’s a very good thing the recipe makes 4 loaves because we always eat half (or more) of a loaf when it’s hot.

  2. October 27, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Ladyrita, where do you make your bread? And by that I mean, do you use a Kitchenaid type stand mixer? Whenever I make enough dough for even two loaves, the dough creeps up and gets wound around the mechanism of my Kitchenaid and gets all gunky. I haven’t figured out a way around that yet except for hand kneading, which is not one of my top ten things in life.


Leave a Reply

Categories


