06
Sep
08

caramel pecan rolls

I got a hankering for cinnamon rolls the other day, so last night I made up a batch for breakfast this morning. I used Rachel’s recipe and added caramel pecan topping to make them extra yummy. I had to add a last minute extra rising period in the middle of the kneading because I ran out of flour and had to run to the store (I measured first and had the 8 cups the recipe requires, but it took more for some reason), so they turned out extra poofy, but they were all right in the end. I made half the batch into cinnamon rolls and half into caramel pecan rolls.

To make the caramel pecan topping, I melted 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of butter in a pan and then removed that from the heat and mixed in 2 tablespoons of corn syrup. That all got poured into the bottom of the pan and topped with pecans, like so.

I refrigerated all the rolls overnight and in the morning they looked like this.

The caramel pecan rolls had to bake for a little longer, but when I pulled them out of the oven and turned them out on a plate they looked like this.

They were pretty decent all around, but I’m not ready to call them fantastic. Of course, it’s probably due to my extra rising time, so I’ll have to make them again (correctly) before I start searching for a new recipe. Ideally, I will someday be able to make cinnamon rolls like Ann Casebolt’s (those of you who’ve had hers know what I’m talking about), but I fear that that day is a long way off. For now I’ll stick with this recipe and make sure that I have enough flour on hand for the next batch.

Leave a Reply

Categories


