04
Sep
08

Homework

Since school is back in full swing, Ben is working semi-regular hours again. For me, this means it’s time to start honing in on wife and home skills. Coming home to a clean home, cheerful faces and having 3 solid meals a day, plus snacks for in between can really boost a guys spirit. One of the most dangerous and wonderful things about being a housewife, is having the power to set the mood. In our house, I’ve noticed it seems to help Ben if I get up with him in the morning before he goes to work. It gives him someone to talk to or delegate little chores (finding keys, preparing coffee, breakfast) to help him get out the door on time and in a good mood. I’m pretty useless in the morning, so I try to have his lunch packed the night before. For breakfast, it’s easiest to have something I just have to re-heat (Ben requested my gook, so I made that last night) or something easily made, like eggs and toast. If you have a coffee maker that you can program to start automatically, use it..it’s once less thing you have to do in the morning and who wouldn’t like waking up to the smell of coffee brewing? Find out what your hubby likes to drink with breakfast. Be it cranberry juice, V8, Ben likes “real” orange juice, so I keep that stashed for him. Even if you sit there like a lug while he eats, he’ll probably appreciate that you’re there with him. This week I made up some of the crock pot jambalaya. I froze part of it and we have been working through the remainder. It’s wonderful, because it’s SO easy to make and tastes great re-heated. It’s hot and healthy and it doesn’t get much better or easier! Lunches are always a challenge for me. Ben prefers meat sandwiches, so I try to keep ingredients on hand for him. One of the nice things about those, is they keep well overnight. Snacks can be easily kept on hand for before dinner is ready and after dinner snack attacks. We usually have cheese and bread, hummus, carrots and some kind of fruit around. Something else that can really help home feel like a sanctuary for the man of the house, is coming home to a comfortable atmosphere. For every guy the particulars probably vary, but for Ben, coming home to happy faces is of huge importance. I try not to attack him with a barrage of questions and complaints when he walks in the door. I try to have Ophelia recently napped, so she’s in a good mood. (Obviously, some days will be easier then others, and on particularly sanctifying days, I try to shoot Ben a warning email, letting him know to pick up a bottle of wine on the way home. :-)) After our attitudes, I’ve found Ben to be most comfortable in a clean home. It doesn’t have to be spotless, but things tidied up, swept and smelling good tends to help. As you can see, a lot of these things are domestic chores you and I do anyways, but I’d encourage you to find out how your husband would prioritize them and see if you can coordinate your agendas. Anyhow, that’s what I’m trying to work on right now. It’s keeping me very, very busy, but I’m enjoying my work and am finding the rewards to be most desirable. I’m able to relax better in the evenings, sleep better at night and I feel less guilty about sneaking in a nap during the afternoon.

5 Responses to “Homework”


  1. 1 ladyrita
    September 4, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Boy does that sound like my life!

  2. 2 kyriosity
    September 8, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I know the jambalaya could hardly be called jambalaya without the sausage, but do you think it would still be worth eating?

  3. September 8, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I’ve omitted the chicken before, but I don’t know….the hot sausage is probably my favorite part! 🙂

  4. 4 kyriosity
    September 10, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Yeah…it would be the best part, but unfortunately it would also be the most fattening part. :-/

  5. 5 kyriosity
    September 10, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    I wonder if I added stuff like fennel and hot pepper flakes if that would give me enough of the flavor without the sausage. Perhaps some day I shall try!


Leave a Reply

Categories


