18
Aug
08

Breakfast

This morning was the first day of Ben’s annual, mandatory Teacher Training seminar. It’s not bad stuff, the problem is that after a summer of sleeping in, the teachers are forced to get up and go to school with the waking of the sun. (I know, it really isn’t that terrible and lots of people are up much earlier, but if you figure they haven’t done this for most of the summer and now they must make the violent transition back into their morning routine, it can be a bit rough.) In doing my part to make it easier, I hauled my own tushie out of bed in order to make some breakfast and pack a lunch for my man. I browned 16oz maple sausage, then added 5 eggs which had been whisked into some cream. Cooked the horrifying looking mixture until the runniness had gone. Then I added a 1/2 cup of condensed cream of mushroom soup and heated the whole shebang through. I know it sounds disgusting, I assure you, it looks worse, but it tastes quite good and it makes for a healthy, hearty breakfast. I’m sure there are ways to make it look better, maybe adding some chopped green and red peppers. But I just used what I had my fridge. I’m sure the coffee & orange juice helped smooth over my breakfast endeavors. And at least it was something different and now I can rest assured knowing that no matter how sleepy poor Ben is, his tummy is full of delicious gook.

3 Responses to “Breakfast”


  1. August 18, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Ophelia asked for seconds. I guess the taste trumped the presentation for her!

  2. August 20, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I love this phrase “delicious gook”. That’s just how it turns out around here sometimes. Looks something awful but tastes great!


Leave a Reply

Categories


