30
Jul
08

Cloth Diapers

So Miss Ophelia doesn’t seem to be ready to potty train yet. The impending doom of having to buy disposables for two children motivated me to do the unthinkable. I’m trying cloth diapers. I found ones I really, really like the looks of, but I figured I should make sure I’ll actually follow through before i spend $20.00 a diaper. So I bought these, to try. Now, my very brave mother used cloth and the aforementioned Abbea uses them, too. I am not brave. Honestly, I’d rather fork out the extra cash 9 times out of 10 for my own personal comfort. I have enjoyed the ease of simply wiping and disposing of the messes. However, the call of duty is hollering at me, so I’m giving it my best shot. Today is the first day. So far we have gone through 4 in the 4 hours she’s been up. I only bought a pack of 12. Plus,  I get the distinct impression I’m no good at getting the diaper pinned firmly, because we’re leaking all over the place. Help?

5 Responses to “Cloth Diapers”


  1. July 30, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I have never had the guts to try cloth, so I have no advice as far as the pinning and stuff goes. As far as finding cheaper cloth diapers though, have you tried craigslist? I don’t know if that’s gross or not…. hmm, anyway. But I see the more expensive kind of cloth diapers on there all the time, in case you’re interested (maybe they’re unused some of the time?).

  2. 2 Sarah
    July 30, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Wow! You are certainly more brave then I ever would be. I have not and will not use cloth diapers…EVER. My two year old is only interested in the potty on occasion and so we shopped around for the best deal diaper wise – and so for quite some time we’ve been getting our diapers at Sam’s Warehouse. I don’t know if you have one of those around you – but it’s a whole sale store where you can buy things in bulk. Totally worth it! We get 188 diapers and I pay about $23. You should consider it!

  3. 3 ladyrita
    July 30, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Here are three tutorials on putting on prefolds, I think the middle one is the most similar to how I do them myself. It definitely takes a bit of practice to get good at them. Your covers might be more to blame for leakage than your folding, the prefolds are more absorbing than containing.

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=173216&highlight=prefold+tutorial
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=499547&highlight=prefold+tutorial
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=202877&highlight=prefold+tutorial

    And I would totally recommend this site for any and all diaper questions, buying, and research. Everyone on there is super nice, and most of my diapers are good condition second hand that I bought off there.

    Their forums.
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php

  4. 4 inyemel
    July 30, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    this is probably a dumb question, but you’re putting a cover over the diapers, right? if yes, then I’d echo what ladyrita said, it’s probably the covers fault that it leaks, not the diapers.

  5. 5 Judy
    August 4, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Have you tried snappis with your diapers? They are much easier to use than pins. You can get them on Ebay. We tend to go through more diapers when we use cloth, so we keep a stash of about 2 dozen and do laundry every other day. Once #2 arrives, though, I’m sure laundry will be every day! Do you sew? You could make your own. There are TONS of resources online. If you’re interested, let me know and I can point you in the right direction!

    Hang in there with the cloth diapers. You’ll eventually get your system down and they’ll be just as convenient as the disposables=)


Leave a Reply

Categories


