29
Jul
08

David & Goliath…continued

By some miracle, this was the most edible loaf I’ve made in approximately five years. Still, it was a bit spongy, and it didn’t rise enough the second time, but it did rise some, so I’m not complaining. The first time I let it rise for 120 minutes (it doubled in size). The second time I let it rise 3 hours, and it only rose about a 1/3. Also, I thought the water you dissolve the yeast in had to be around 80 degrees so as not to kill it. I am mistaken?

4 Responses to “David & Goliath…continued”


  1. 1 kyriosity
    July 29, 2008 at 9:10 am

    It certainly looks beautiful! I don’t know about the proofing temp. I’m strictly a bread machine girl, so I just throw everything in and let the gadget figure it out!

  2. July 29, 2008 at 9:14 am

    All the bread and pizza recipes I’ve ever made have called for something in the 115-130 degree range for the water for the yeast. I’ve even had problems with my doughs rising when I stray out of the 120-130 range. Maybe try some warmer water next time and see what happens? Your bread does look tasty though!

  3. July 29, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Betsy, thanks, I’ll try that today.

    Valerie, I have a bread machine (it’s much easier and i love it), but I had the same rising problem there, so once i figure out what I’m doing wrong, I’ll switch back.

  4. July 31, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Your bread looks delicious. I have a bread machine, but I never use it! It seems too complicated. Do you have any good recipes for a machine?

    Oh, I just posted a super-easy bread recipe last week on my blog. It turns out amazingly well. You might give it a shot.

    Moriah
    http://www.upsaid.com/rosearamma


Leave a Reply

Categories


