24
Jul
08

yummy chicken salad

I’ll start off by saying that I’ve never been a fan of chicken salad, just like I’ve never been a fan of egg salad. But, I was growing weary of the same old recipes and I had some chicken to use up, so I flipped through my copy of Hot Providence and found a chicken salad recipe that looked like it might work. I gave it a few tweaks and ended up with this.

1/3 cup finely diced celery
1/4 cup chopped green onions
1/4 cup light mayo
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
2 tablespoons plain cream top yogurt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon dried dill
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 oz. diced pimento
1 1/2 cup chopped cooked chicken meat (I used two little boneless thighs, but probably could have added more)
1/2 cup chopped cashews

In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients except the chicken and cashews. Mix well. Add chicken and cashews and mix well again. Cover and refrigerate until serving. Serve on croissants with a big cluster of green grapes on the side.

My husband loved it (and he is as much a chicken salad fan as he is an egg salad fan, so I took it as a compliment), and I will admit to having eaten two sandwiches myself. All in all, not a bad recipe, and very easy to make a bigger batch and refrigerate it for quick-to-assemble sandwiches for lunch or busy-night dinners.

0 Responses to “yummy chicken salad”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


