10
Jul
08

fabric shops & sources

I have only recently (within the last year or so) discovered the world of crafting blogs. They are a wonderful inspiration and it’s so fun to see what other women across the country are doing with their spare moments (my list of favorites is on the right side over there). I have been drooling over the new fabric collections from Heather Bailey and Anna Maria Horner lately, but I’ve never ordered fabric online so I hadn’t gotten my hands on any yardage yet.

Yesterday my mom and I stopped in to a new shop in Moscow called Stitches and Petals. I will confess snobbery right now and say that I thought this was going to be another hole in the wall grandma-ey calico fabric place with carnation and chrysanthemum flower arrangements. That was until I walked in and saw a shelf of Heather Bailey’s Freshcut line. And it was half off, along with some Amy Butler. I bought a yard of Amy Butler’s Mustard Wallflower and two yards of Heather Bailey’s Freshcut floral for $18, which I think is pretty dandy. The lady working there said that they were going to be getting in Heather Bailey’s new line too, which I am exceedingly excited for. So pop in to Stitches and Petals for a fun little surprise of some fantastic fabrics!

While I’m talking about fabric sources I’ll go ahead and plug an etsy shop that some girls in our church are running called Dutch Girl Fabrics. They stock some fun fabrics including Amy Butler, so if you’re looking for an online resource and want to help out some fellow crafty moms I’d encourage you to check them out.

If you’re new to the crafting world or if you grew up in it but have been away for a while and think that dark calico florals and plaids are still de rigueur, then I’d strongly encourage you to check out some of the designers and fabric lines I’ve linked above. There are modern florals and patterns in the cheeriest and freshest of colors that they will force you to come up with a new crafting or sewing project just so that you can buy and use them. Don’t let the selection at your local chain fabric store fool you – there’s some beautiful stuff out there if you know where to look!

0 Responses to “fabric shops & sources”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


