26
Jun
08

Grilled Kielbasa with Warm Potato Salad

I cooked!!!! My insurance company finally authorized my upped dosage of zofran, so I should be able to keep my hyperemesis more under control which means……(insert drum roll)
I can start making and eating(!) dinner again!!! Praise the Lord!!

I found this recipe on Epicurious.com (although I do subscribe and recommend Gourmet Magazine in which it was featured originally.) Generally, Ben and I aren’t fans of potato salad, but we found this one to be quite good. The recipe is really simple, affordable, and was prepared in under 30 minutes! I made a few alterations for my own convenience. We used a handful of fresh, chopped basil and a 1/2 tbsp. each of chopped chives and dill because I didn’t have any parsley. I oiled, vinegar-ed, salted and peppered to taste. We also used turkey kielbasa because I’ve had a rocky relationship with pork. We had a garden side salad instead of the suggested coleslaw.

INGRIEDIENTS:

  • 2 pounds small red boiling potatoes, halved or quartered if large
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped sweet onion
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 pound smoked kielbasa

DIRECTIONS:

Generously cover potatoes with water in a large saucepan and add 1 tsp salt. Bring to a boil, then simmer, partially covered, until potatoes are tender, 10 to 15 minutes. Drain.

Meanwhile, whisk together onion, oil, vinegar, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper in a large bowl.

Add hot potatoes and parsley to vinaigrette and toss.

Prepare grill for direct-heat cooking over medium-hot charcoal (medium heat for gas).

Cut kielbasa crosswise into 4 sections, then halve each section lengthwise.

Oil grill rack, then grill kielbasa, covered only if using a gas grill, turning once, until sizzling and grill marks appear, about 4 minutes total.

Serve kielbasa with potato salad (warm or at room temperature).

Cooks’ note: Kielbasa can be grilled in a hot lightly oiled large (2-burner) ridged grill pan over medium-high heat.

Serve with: coleslaw

0 Responses to “Grilled Kielbasa with Warm Potato Salad”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


