25
Jun
08

pasta with gorgonzola and walnut sauce

When I was in Italy, a friend and I went searching for a McDonald’s because we thought that it’d be so funny to eat at a McD’s in Europe. We couldn’t find one and so we stopped in at a little hole-in-the-wall Italian restaurant (are they called Italian restaurants in Italy? I don’t know…). Our waiter was hilarious and gave us free champagne and our meal took a good two hours but was so worth it. I had a blue cheese ravioli with a carmelized pear and walnut sauce. It was absolutely divine.

Fast forward a few years to when my husband and I were on a date at Swilly’s. There was a similar pasta with gorgonzola, walnuts, and pears on the menu and I had to order it. It took me back to that little hole-in-the-wall and I was reminded of my affinity for this combination of flavors.

A few days ago we were given a big hunk of gorgonzola. I had no idea what I would do with that much cheese! And then I remembered the pasta with walnuts and pears. I found this recipe on epicurious and tried it. It wasn’t Italy, but it was still pretty good.

Let me mention a few of the alterations that I made to the recipe. I substituted whole wheat penne for the fusilli, which may have been a mistake. The penne was just a little too heavy and didn’t allow enough gorgonzola flavor to come through. I also omitted the basil (mistake? I don’t know). And lastly, I chopped up some pear to serve alongside. The pear makes all the difference, especially when you’re serving it in the warmer months. The cool juiciness of the pear cuts through the thick heavy creaminess of the cheese sauce and it’s just perfect. Oh, and if there’s anything that I would warn you of in this recipe it would be to not be shy with the gorgonzola! It might seem like it’s asking for a lot, but as written it’s really quite mild.

Again, we are without pictures. My apologies. Maybe next time.

0 Responses to “pasta with gorgonzola and walnut sauce”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


