14
Jun
08

introducing a new cook

This post is going to be a little heavy on the pictures because I was not the one doing the cooking, my husband was. Just thought I’d prepare you.

The other day, my husband caught a half hour of the Food Network. He saw an episode of Rachel Ray’s show and decided that that looked easy enough and he was going to make us dinner. He even took notes.

I was, admittedly, a little surprised, but I am not the kind of person who is going to pass up on the opportunity to have someone else do the cooking for a night. So, without telling me what he was going to make, he gave me the shopping list so that I could get the ingredients while he was at work and then he whipped it all up when he got home.

I’m not going to post the recipes, but you can find them all here in the episode “30 Minutes to Eternal Bliss”. The recipes are for Croque Madames, Green Salad with Strawberry Balsamic Vinaigrette, and Vodka Still Works Cocktail.

He started us out with drinks. This one is called “The Vodka Still Works.” It’s pretty tasty, and there is no dishonesty in its name.

He then set to work on a bechamel sauce for the croques, and the balsamic dressing for the salads.


We ended up with the most delicious salad and open faced sandwiches.

I was especially impressed because this salad is something that I never would have tried. It looks weird to me, but it tastes wonderful. As you may have gathered, my husband’s cooking was a big hit around the dinner table. It was in fact so good that I had to make the sandwiches again tonight for B and I while Andrew was at work.

So let this be a lesson to all of us whose husbands have never gone beyond fried eggs and a chicken caesar salad! Husbands should also take note though that once you show us what you can do, you may be called upon to do it more often.

2 Responses to “introducing a new cook”


  1. 1 Sarah
    June 15, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    it’s funny how the last person you’d think is good in the kitchen turns out to be fabulous! my husband was the same way!!! 🙂 makes it nice for us to get a night off for a change


Leave a Reply

Categories


