27
May
08

iced bosnian coffee

Now that the summer months are upon us, it is time to start setting aside the steaming mugs in favor of the sound of ice clinking in large twenty-ounce pub glasses. I could drink Starbucks Mocha Frappuccinos or Bucer’s Dark Chocolate Iced Mochas all day long, but that would get really expensive, so I’ve spent a little time working out recipes for home-made iced coffee confections.

One of the things that I love about Abra’s Bosnian Coffee is the fact that it is as delicious cold as it is hot, and it keeps well in the fridge for a few days. I can make a large pot of it on Monday, refrigerate what I don’t drink that day, and enjoy it on Tuesday and Wednesday (I have not noticed any compromise in the taste). This method also saves dishes, which I am always happy to do.

To make Iced Bosnian Coffee, I start with three or four ounces of milk in a large glass (I use the aforementioned 20-oz. pub glasses) and froth it up till it fills about two-thirds of the glass. I plop in a few ice cubes (I love that clinking sound), and then artistically drizzle in the chilled Bosnian Coffee till the glass is full. If you want, you can froth in a little bit of dark chocolate syrup as well to make it extra rich (a great Sunday treat). Then comes my favorite part – watching the milk foam bubbles rise to the top as the darker coffee moves toward the bottom. It’s almost like watching a poorly mixed black and tan settle into place.

Then I sit back, and enjoy.

0 Responses to “iced bosnian coffee”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


