01
May
08

the darkest chocolate

My family (ok, mostly just my dad and I) have a somewhat unique life goal. We are continually looking for a darker dark chocolate. Our fallback favorite is Scharffen Berger Chocolate, and I’ve got two bars sitting here on my desk that contain 62% and 70% cocoa, respectively. Scharffen Berger has been around for fifteen years or so, but was recently ‘acquired’ by the Hershey company. Unlike the buyout of Jaguar by Ford however, this merger has seemed to have no effect on the quality of the finer product. We’ve found some other brands that have higher cocoa content, but they have thus far come across as too bitter, so we’re fairly content with our Scharffen Berger for now. There is a brand that the Moscow Food Co-op carries that is pretty decent, but is a bit more expensive. Scharffen Berger, by the way, is available at the Grocery Outlet down in Lewiston at a much discounted price.

Here is my favorite. It’s called the Nibby Bar, and it has little bits of roasted cocoa beans in it to give it a bit of a crunchy bite. Quite tasty and enjoyable. (Photo courtesy of the company website)

If any of you know of some great dark chocolate, I’d love to hear about it!

10 Responses to “the darkest chocolate”


  1. 1 bethanyjirak
    May 1, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Ever tried MarieBelle? I am not a connoisseur by any means, but I like dark chocolate, and their hot chocolate bars are really good, not bitter at all. I know, the “hot chocolate” part of the name sounds like it wouldn’t taste all that dark, but it does.

  2. May 1, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Bethany- I’ve never tried MarieBelle – where do you find it? Do you have to order it online? It looks really yummy!

  3. 3 ncmom77
    May 1, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I love dark chocolate as well, and it’s supposed to be “good” for you now! 🙂 I had one the other day that was 87% cacao. It had the intense bitter rich flavor with just the perfect amount of sweetness. I think it was a DAGOBA bar.

  4. May 2, 2008 at 7:36 am

    I’ve been realizing the past few months, that extra extra dark chocolate is the best there is, at least to me. I just love anything 70% or more. Delicious!

  5. May 2, 2008 at 7:41 am

    I lived on Green & Black’s 85% Dark Chocolate bars after Ophelia was born. Seriously, about 1 a day. It helped with PPD. 🙂

  6. 6 jos
    May 2, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    there is this 90% one right godiva am i not correct?

  7. May 2, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Jos – I haven’t tried the godiva one, but at 90% I’m sure going to look for it next time I go! Thanks for the tip!

  8. 8 neelofer
    May 2, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Bonnat does a 100 percent bar and Michel Cluizel does a 99 percent. Other than that, I think Scharffen Berger does a bar in the 80s at least.

  9. 9 jos
    May 2, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    yeah do try it. love dark chocolate. i have no idea why nestle is still doing normal Kitkats after releasing the dark chocolate ones. There is NO WAY I m ever going to eat a normal kitkat bar again. it is sickening sweet.

  10. 10 katfulton
    October 12, 2008 at 6:25 am

    real dark chocolate? taza chocolate. made in somerville, MA, USA. http://www.tazachocolate.com – there is a 60%, 70% and 80% dark. what you will find that is different about this chocolate is that it is 100% stone ground and the beans are lightly roasted, so the flavor is strong and in your face (in a good way). not over-roasted & bitter. just really pure and chocolatey. and it is organic too. the 70 and 80% are great for baking too!


Leave a Reply

Categories


