29
Apr
08

two-pea pasta with ricotta and tarragon

I made dinner! I know, I know, I should be able to say that seven days a week, but with all of the track meets and lacrosse games lately, we haven’t even been home for about 4 nights a week! Last night we didn’t have anything going on after 5:30 and I decided that it was high time I fulfilled my domestic duties and made something to sit down to at the table. I turned to my trusty FOOD magazine, and found this recipe. About two thirds of the way through it, I realized that it was probably intended as more of a side dish, but oh well. It was still fairly tasty, although I think it needed some additional type of cheese (the ricotta just wasn’t flavorful enough).

Two-pea pasta with ricotta and tarragon

Ingredients

Serves 4
Coarse salt and ground pepper
12 ounces gemelli or other short pasta
12 ounces sugar snap peas, stem ends removed (and, if necessary, strings)
1 package (10 ounces) frozen peas
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons chopped fresh tarragon, plus more for garnish (optional)
1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese

Directions

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta 3 minutes less than al dente. Add snap peas; cook 2 minutes, add peas, and cook 1 minute more. Reserve 1/2 cup pasta water; drain pasta and vegetables, and return to pot.
Toss pasta and vegetables with butter, tarragon, and ricotta, adding a little reserved pasta water as needed to create a thin sauce that coats pasta; season with salt and pepper.
Divide pasta among four serving bowls, and garnish with tarragon, if desired. Serve immediately.

1 Response to “two-pea pasta with ricotta and tarragon”


  1. April 29, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Ah, no judgment here. I have Dominoes Pizza and Hunan China in my cell on speed dial! 🙂 We’ve also been known to serve cheesy ricotta as the main dish. I’ll have to try this one!


Leave a Reply

Categories


