21
Apr
08

Bosnian Coffee

My husband discovered that our coffee maker has a water filter. He brought this to my attention recently. Our coffee maker is a very nice one given to us as a wedding gift in 2004. I had no idea it had a water filter. The upshot of this being that until I buy a new filter, I’m can’t use our coffee maker. I’ve reverted back to my teenage years of making kick-in-the-pants-and-then-drop-you-three-hours-later Bosnian coffee. It’s rich and sweet and it smells divine. The concept is very simple. Grind your beans to a fine powder. Bring the coffee to a simmer in a pot of water. When it begins to simmer, reduce to heat to low and stir in about a 1/3 cup of sugar. Leave it warming on the stove-top about 20 minutes more to give the sugar time to dissolve and the coffee time to brew. At this point, you’ll pour it in your mug and then be called to demonstrate saint like patience. If you are challenged in this step and sneak a sip, you will find the dregs have not settled to the bottom of the cup. Not the best part of waking up. After you’ve given it ample time to separate, only then can you sip the fragrant, energy giving beverage. Of course, you can add milk (or Irish Cream! Or Ben’s favorite, a splash of whiskey.) if you are so inclined, but I suggest you do so before letting it settle. After making it a few times, you’ll be able to switch up the quantity of sugar, the temperature of the water and the texture of the grinds. In short, you’ll be able to perfect your ideal cup of coffee.

13 Responses to “Bosnian Coffee”


  1. April 21, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I am a coffee wuss. I drink weak stuff with milk. And I call my in-law’s French press stuff ‘sludge.’

  2. April 21, 2008 at 9:03 am

    This looks like fun. I might have to give it a try this afternoon!

  3. April 21, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Oh my goodness, this stuff is wonderful! I didn’t use quite enough water (I didn’t account for evap.), so I had to add more at the end. I used about 1/3 to 1/2 cup powder-ground coffee and the 1/3 cup sugar that you recommended. I simmered it for 15 minutes because I was a little afraid of letting it go all 20 minutes (but now I think I might try that next time!). Unfortunately, I do not have saint-like patience, so I poured it into my french press to get out the grounds (it was a little difficult since it was powder ground, but it worked). Just wow. This is wonderful. I think that this is how I will be doing it from now on when I have the time!!! Thanks for the recipe! Oh, and why is it called “Bosnian Coffee”?

  4. April 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I’m glad you liked it! To be honest, I don’t know why it’s called Bosnian, other then the person who taught it to me, was taught the art by their exchange student from Bosnia. I assume that is the way they do it over there. 🙂

  5. 5 Rishat Muhametshin
    April 22, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Try making coffee in water of room temperature – just add two spoons of coffee powder into a cup of the water and wait for an hour. Coffee made this way is amazing, but has only one disadvantage – it is cold. Anyway, coffee doesn’t bitter and smell like footballer’s socks.

    I recommend this formula: seventy five degrees water and eight minutes timer.

    P.S. “I’m can’t use” – how could you write this incorrectly?

  6. April 22, 2008 at 6:15 am

    My Romanian mother-in-law makes coffee exactly like this! Then serves it to me in paper-thin china; incredible!

  7. April 22, 2008 at 6:55 am

    RM, my apologies! I hadn’t had my coffee yet! 😉

  8. April 22, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Oh wow! I stumbled on this post from the WP homepage and I am going to try this recipe! I recall having Bosnian coffee when I was deployed to Tuzla in 96 and 98. So glad to find a recipe!

  9. April 22, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Oh, meant to ask in my previous comment – what coffee/water ratio do you recommend?

  10. April 22, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    It really depends on how strong you like it. I usually do 3 1/2 to 4 cups of water with 1 cup of whole bean coffee (before I grind it). We also prefer to use a dark roast (like a French). Just look for the greasiest looking bag of coffee and you’ll know it’s rich and dark!

  11. April 22, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    For what it’s worth, when I make this on Sunday mornings for the fam., I also add a pinch of nutmeg or ground cloves and a liberal dusting of cinnamon.

    I also prefer to use sugar in the raw. I’m not normally a fan of sweet drinks, but that type of sugar doesn’t seem to taste as sickeningly sweet to me for some reason (psycho-somatic? maybe. i do have a major jones for “natural” products).

    And yes, the whiskey is essential.


Leave a Reply

Categories


