16
Apr
08

The Girlfriends’ Guide to Pregnancy

I just finished reading it. I read all the serious preggers books the first time around. Truth be told? What to Expect When You’re Expecting scared the heck out of me and Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way cast a scathing eye on mommies who choose pain management…not cool. As Mrs. Iovine (author of the Girlfriend’s Guide, hereafter to be referred to as the GGP) points out, there’s no medal for natural birth moms after the stinker shows its wrinkled face! The author leans toward epidurals…she had a c-section with one of hers, and honestly, I have nothing against pain management during labor. It’s a woman’s personal choice. I braved O’s arrival without, however, if they ever bring pitocin within a foot of my iv again, I guarantee, I’ll be begging the anesthesiologist to just put me under completely! The GGP covers all those topics a gal is either too embarrassed or to naive to ask her midwife or OB. She talks about feet, breasts, skin, hair and oh, yes…the million dollar question, sex during and after pregnancy. She kept me laughing from cover to cover (she does swear a bit, so be warned, I thought it was funny.) I only disagreed with her on a few points. First, amnio and chromosomal abnormality testing. I give those tests a big, fat veto. If God blesses you with a baby, you take it. If you don’t want to have a child with disabilities, you need to buy one, not make it. There’s no return to sender option in pregnancy. And secondly, the advise to lie to your husband about the post-partum 6 week rule to get out of sex is ridiculous! Maybe I just got lucky, but Ben never asked or made me feel guilty about being out of commission of my wifely duties after Ophelia was born. He was actually more conscientious of the fact that I had just “passed” a person then I was. Also, I’ve only ever met one or two Christian wives who wanted to wait 6 weeks before getting things back to business in the bedroom. Personally, I couldn’t wait to feel like a woman again. The GGP does have some good helpful tips if you happen to be having problems getting ye old libido going again, though. As good Christian wives, I think it’s our duty not to milk the 6 week rule for all it’s worth. This really is a great read for first time moms and as a reminder to already moms. I had forgotten about sciatic nerves and cramping calves. GGP serves up the realities with a snicker and a suggestion. It’s good for pregnant mommies to know they aren’t alone and they aren’t un-necessarily crazy. The Girlfriends’ Guide to Pregnancy makes sure you know, too.

3 Responses to “The Girlfriends’ Guide to Pregnancy”


  1. April 16, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    A friend of mine who is pregnant loves this book too and is looking forward to buying it for me at some point. 🙂 I’m excited to get the chance to read it!

  2. April 17, 2008 at 5:28 am

    I was given this book by a good friend, and I agree that it was fun to read! “What to expect” is a dragon of a book. Its good for the facts but not very personally at all. I also agree with you conditionally about “milking” the six week postpardom period. I had a difficult delivery my son and six weeks was to early to resume anything! But My daughter’s was much smoother. And therefore much quicker. 🙂 Our bodies are ready when they are.

  3. April 19, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Oh, yes. I should have clarified. Wives shouldn’t use the six week rule to get out of sex. However, some women have very legit reasons for waiting 6+ weeks, though, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that. Ophelia was pretty easy on me (only 4 stitches, yay!!), so I forget sometimes. 🙂 Thanks for reminding me, Grace!


Leave a Reply

Categories


