15
Apr
08

disgustingly rich brownies

I realize now that we’ve had this blog up and running for over six months now and I have not yet posted this recipe, which means that it has been at least six months since I have made these brownies. I think I owe my husband an apology for that. I think there was a stipulation in our marriage contract that these brownies had to be made at least twice a month, and I have obviously been very neglectful of my brownie baking duties. So honey, I’m sorry. These are for you.

This recipe comes from KidsCooking: A Very Slightly Messy Manual. My aunt gave me this book when I was probably 10 or so. It’s a great cookbook for kids, and I still have the little color coded measuring spoons that it came with. This recipe was an instant hit and is a great starter recipe for kids (provided that they know the difference between baking cocoa and drinking cocoa, which I did not the first time around). It’s a great ‘daddy’ recipe because it’s easy and every dad is going to love these, especially when prepared by eager little hands and presented proudly after dinner.

If you need to make these brownies even more disgustingly rich, add a handful of chocolate chips. Your husband will love you forever.

Disgustingly Rich Brownies

2 cups sugar
3/4 cup cocoa
1 cup butter, melted
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, then smear the inside of an 8 or 9-inch baking pan with shortening or butter.

Stir together the cocoa and sugar. Then stir in the melted butter. Add the eggs and vanilla, and stir again. Now add the flour and salt, and mix just until smooth. If you’re adding chocolate chips, now is the time.

Scrape the mixture into the greased pan and spread out in an even layer. Bake until the brownies just begin to pull away from the sides of the pan or until you can stick a toothpick in and pull it out with no batter sticking to it. This takes about 40 to 50 minutes.

And as the book says, the hardest part. Let it cool a bit before diving in. Maybe serve with a little ice cream, or at least a big ol’ glass of whole milk.

2 Responses to “disgustingly rich brownies”


  1. April 15, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    That’s almost identical to our beloved brownie recipe. I am a brownie-aholic, I am. I cannot resist a rich, heavy brownie.

  2. April 16, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I think I could make those!!


Leave a Reply

Categories


