07
Apr
08

Wok Warning

If you tried to call me today and I didn’t answer, chances were I was putting out the fire in my kitchen. You may think I’m speaking in metaphor here. I’m not. Today I’m attempting to make Stir Fried Rice and Orange Chicken. I was unaware that a wok left heating oil too long could burst in flame. It can.

(No worries. I drowned the flames in flour and put the smoking wok on my deck. The house was aired out by the time Ben came home from work.)

3 Responses to “Wok Warning”


  1. 1 kyriosity
    April 7, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    How very dramatic!

  2. April 8, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Wow, you are very composed. The first time I experience oil + gas stove + pan bursting into frames, I pretty much freaked out and probably would have burned down the whole kitchen if someone else hadn’t put it out. 🙂

  3. April 8, 2008 at 11:37 am

    “composed” isn’t the word I would have chosen. At any rate, the meal turned out great. I used a frying pan since my wok was temporarily disabled. I didn’t have all the right ingredients on hand for the rice, so I used leeks, parsley, mushrooms, white cabbage and carrots. It tasted really good. Even Ophelia enjoyed it. I made the mistake of grilling the chicken (because I wasn’t up for deep frying after my fire fiasco). It tasted alright, but lacked the crispy quality orange chicken should have. The orange sauce was really yummy. I added just a pinch of vanilla to cut the acidity down a smidge. On the whole, the recipe gets an A from me.


Leave a Reply

Categories


