31
Mar
08

cleaning products

Lately I’ve been re-examining my house cleaning methods, or more particularly my house cleaning products. I’ve known for a while that I’ve probably been going a little overboard with my ‘bleach everything’ policy, and so I’ve slowly been warming up the ‘vinegar and baking soda method’ of cleaning. After doing some reading this morning, I’ve decided to launch into it and do away with my many bottles of specialized cleaning products and try to simplify it down to a few products that are easier to store and safer to use. One thing I’m wondering about though is a good all purpose cleaner. I’ve looked at that new line of Clorox Green Works products, and I’m considering their all purpose cleaner. I’m wondering, has anyone used that? Do you have any other suggestions for ‘safer’ cleaning products?

4 Responses to “cleaning products”


  1. March 31, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I have it. Ben bought it. He’s more into natural organics then I am. I’m still a Bleach and BAM! and Greased Lighting kind of woman. To be honest, I wasn’t impressed. When tackling a dried-food-on-countertop mess (now you know just how dirty my house gets :-)) it didn’t work at all. I’m thinking I might use it to wipe down toys, but not for the big messes.

  2. March 31, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    My house gets that messy too. Except there are usually coffee grounds embedded in the dried on food. 😉 Thanks for the review!

  3. April 2, 2008 at 4:03 am

    That particular Clorox product was being used (by me) for a purpose other than intended (it is just a disinfectant spray, not a nastiness-dissolver).
    You might also check out the brand Method (methodhome.com. They make a number of safe and effective cleaning products. I love their wood and leather care products particularly, but they have a product for virtually everything, and aren’t particularly expensive.
    OK, now I’m going to go chop some wood, or spit or something…

  4. 4 swingerofbirches
    April 2, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    And I second the props for Method. I appreciate their tub and tile spray cleaner, in the bathrooms especially. I’ve never tried their wood and leather care prodcuts (though they do look rather distinguished on the shelves of Super Target), but the products I’m familiar with have a good light scent (not fakey and overwhelming–except for maybe the ylang ylang shower spray IMO) or are unscented.
    I’m also big on a general disinfectant, and so I use the regular Clorox Anywhere spray if I’m concerned with germies. It’s my understanding that due to the chemical composition of bleach the only thing it leaves behind as it dries is a water/salt residue. Do not quote me on this, as I am not a chemist, but I recall reading that somewhere. (I’m guessing that has something to do with why the bottle says you can use it on children’s toys…?) Someone else may have the definitive info on that point.

    Anyhow, just my thoughts. Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Categories


