28
Mar
08

soil conditioner

I know that some of you are starting to work in your gardens, and so I thought that I’d tell you about this wonderful product (do I sound like an infomercial?). This is Whitney Farms Soil Conditioner, and I can personally vouch for its effectiveness. Whitney Farms is a small division of the Scott’s company (think Miracle-Gro, Osmocote, and lots of other garden products) that deals exclusively in organic soil ammendments, fertilizers, and potting mixes. Their products are available locally at Crossroads Nursery, and probably some other places that I don’t know about yet.

But back to the soil conditioner. Back when I worked at Crossroads, I did a little experiment. I had two identical planting beds that I was going to fill with our left-over gladiolus bulbs so that we could maybe have some cut flowers. I used the Whitney Farms Soil Conditioner in one bed, and then a bagged compost in the other bed (each mixed in with the existing soil). The bulbs in the Soil Conditioner bed came up markedly sooner, brighter, and fuller than those in the other bed. Now, I don’t know if it is only our Palouse soil that benefits so greatly from this product or what, but I was very impressed with it. So, if you’re starting to dress your beds for springtime planting, I highly recommend picking up a couple of bags of this stuff!
img_wfallnatsoilcond_std.jpg

0 Responses to “soil conditioner”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


