24
Mar
08

easter gifts

I picked up this darling little doll bed for $19 at Ikea last week while we were in Seattle. I have a bunch of scraps left over from piecing together this quilt, so I thought I’d throw together a little doll blanket to go with B’s new little doll bed for Easter. It was incredibly simple, since I wasn’t following a pattern. I just sewed together some scraps, evened up the edges, sewed those together, evened up the edges again, put a border on, machine quilted it (a new experiment for me) and bound it! The piecing and machine quilting took me about an hour and a half to two hours, and then it took me a half-hour or so to hand stitch the binding to the back. I’m quite pleased with it, and I really enjoy the idea of being able to make a new little doll quilt for B in one day (great for emergency gifts!!).
new-bed.jpg
The picture was taken on our bed because that’s where I had to hide the thing after I put it together on Thursday night. Unfortunately, I came down with the 24-hour flu early Saturday morning and so we pulled out the new doll bed and every other interesting toy and kids’ movie we owned to entertain B while I languished on the couch and Andrew went off to work (he works afternoons and nights on some Saturdays). So her Easter gift came a little early, but she still appreciated it muchly. Now we are all back to normal, and B loves tucking in her dolls and kissing them ‘night night’ in their new little bed.

I hope you all had a lovely Easter!

0 Responses to “easter gifts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


