20
Mar
08

happy first day of spring!

I hope you all are having a springier day than we are – we awoke this morning to a half inch of snow on our cars! Sometimes I wonder if the clouds have looked at the calendar lately.

In honor of the first day of spring, I’m making these coconut cupcakes (well, they also happen to be for a baby shower tonight). The coconut and almond flavors seem very springy to me, and I find it hard to go wrong with one of Ina Garten’s recipes. In true Barefoot Contessa form though, take a peek at these ingredients!!
ingredients.jpg
Granted, I didn’t quite use all of them, but I came pretty close! Here’s the yummy yummy batter…
batter.jpg
And the even yummier frosting…
frosting.jpg
And last but not least, the cupcakes.
cupcakes.jpg
I have to make a little clarification here on the cupcake papers. Whenever I go shopping for cute muffin tin liners, I always forget how the batter and baking process alters them. These liners started out cute and pink and would’ve gone quite well with the frosting and coconut in their pre-baked state. However, add in all that butter from the first picture, and the color of the paper darkens and turns a bit brown. A little disappointing, to say the least. Oh well, at least they’ll still taste good!

2 Responses to “happy first day of spring!”


  1. March 20, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    I (accidentally) bought a bag of unsweetened shaved dried coconut at the organic store the other day, and I’ve (accidentally) almost eaten the whole bag in a couple of weeks. So help me, I adore coconut.

  2. March 20, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    This brings to mind the theory of ‘happy accidents’. My accidents usually come in the form of Pocky, a delicious little Japanese (I think) treat.


Leave a Reply

Categories


