17
Mar
08

egg salad

Yuck. That’s my response when it comes to egg salad. But we have a problem here in our house, because when my husband hears “egg salad”, he says Yum. So, when I came across this recipe in the latest Everyday Food, I thought I should give it a try (a way of culinarily loving my husband, you could say). The recipe turned out pretty well, and I think it’s because it is so simple. You just mix up the dressing and then fold in the chopped up eggs. I think this also serves to create a decently textured egg salad – one of the things I dislike about ‘normal’ egg salad is the fact that it tastes like pureed deviled eggs, and shares the same consistency too. I guess you could say that I’m a citizen for chunky egg salad. There should be a bumper sticker.

egg-salad.jpg

Open-Faced Egg Salad Sandwiches

1/2 cup light mayo
2 teaspoons dijon mustard
1 teaspoon white-wine vinegar
8 hard-cooked eggs, peeled and roughly chopped
1 celery stalk, minced
1/4 small red onion, minced (maybe a little less)
coarse salt and ground pepper
8 slices Italian bread, toasted (regular works just fine though)
green leaf lettuce, for serving

In a medium bowl, whisk together mayo, mustard, and vinegar until smooth. Add celery and onion and season with salt and pepper; mix to combine. Gently fold in eggs. To serve, top toasts with lettuce and egg salad.

Leave a Reply

Categories


