25
Feb
08

baby blanket how-to

I am happy to report that my sewing machine made it home safely yesterday and now I can present the baby blanket how-to. I really have to apologize for my tutorials, because I’m horrible at writing directions. Showing you would be super easy, but putting it into words is not my strong point. So, if I’ve left anything out or anything is confusing, please let me know and I’ll try to fix it!

Begin by purchasing a yard each of two different flannels (preferably matching ones). Spread the fabric out, place them right sides together and trim the edges so that they are even. It is easiest to do this with a rotary cutter and mat, but I’m sure it could be managed with a decent pair of scissors.
dsc_0052.jpg
Sew along the edges (still right sides together), 1/2″ from the edge of the fabric (this is called a 1/2″ seam allowance). Leave about 5″ along one side un-sewn, so that you can turn the blanket right side out.
dsc_0058.jpgdsc_0061.jpg
Turn it right side out and stitch 1/4″ from the edge, so that you’re stitching through four layers of fabric (the outsides of the blanket and the seam allowance that is on the inside). You’ll have to fiddle with it a bit to get it to lay flat and straight. In fact, you may want to iron it first so that it’s easier to work with.
dsc_0068.jpg
Once you get to the bit that you left open so that you could turn it all inside out, just kinda keep going. Make sure the seam allowance bit is tucked in and the edges are straight, and then just keep on sewing that 1/4″ away from the edge like you’ve been doing all along.
dsc_0072.jpg
Once you’ve sewn all the way around, you’re done! These two took me about an hour total, and that included putting a kiddo to bed and checking email and taking the pictures. Good luck!
dsc_0077.jpg

2 Responses to “baby blanket how-to”


  1. February 26, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Thanks for the tutorial! I think I can manage that, even though I’m an amature in sewing. I need to keep an eye open for the $2 flannel again.


Leave a Reply

Categories


