22
Feb
08

Morning Sickness

Sorry, I can’t do any posts about food right now. The very thought turns my tummy! However, I’ve reached that point in my pregnancy where nothing stays down. I’ve tried all the basics (saltines, little meals, ginger, lemon mints, mint tea, minty mints, even Premesis RX) does anyone have unusual suggestions for helping morning sickness? With O, I had to get a prescription, but my doctor’s appointment isn’t until March 3rd, so…..help? anyone?

Also, for anyone else in this situation, I got a great tip from a very wise friend of mine. She dealt with morning sickness while nursing a newborn (long story/short version: breast feeding and condoms don’t always work as birth control). She said to make a list of the chores you need to get done, grab your puke bucket and run around the house to get them done as quickly as possible. It works! True, it doesn’t feel fabulous, but your husbter will have a nice clean house to come home to and you won’t feel like such a dead weight! Yay!

6 Responses to “Morning Sickness”


  1. February 24, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    prayers please:

    Yesterday I had to go to the emergency clinic up the street for dehydration. For the last couple of days I’ve been able to keep down maybe a 1/2 cup of water? and i’ve lost about 11 lbs in the last 5 days or so. They gave me phenergan which is what I used when I was pregnant with Ophelia and it worked then….not so much now (this one’s a strong baby!). To make matters worse, phenergan side effects also make me dizzy, more nauseated and exhausted. I took it this morning, and hour later drank some water and was promptly revisited by it and then crashed for 3 1/2 hours! Not good. I’m going to call my ob again tomorrow and pray they have an open appointment. If they don’t, I know they’ll send me to the ER for iv fluids and we just can’t afford that right now. Please pray for all of our strength (ben, ophelia, and mine). It’s pretty hard on O not having a readily available mom and especially on Ben whose having to do double duty. I’m just glad I get a prize at the end of this marathon! 🙂

  2. February 24, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Wow honey, I’m so sorry! You guys will certainly be in our prayers. Does exercising help at all, like maybe walks?

  3. February 24, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Thanks. Lately, I’ve been blacking out for a second or two whenever I stand up and the dizziness makes me vomit, but I do try to get up and keep up with my chores whenever I get a moment, but when I do accomplish them I’m pretty much spent and spend the rest of the day on the couch (or on the guest bed in O’s room playing and listening to her sing along to Johnny Cash :-)) I hoping my prayers will be heard and this won’t last too long and I can get back to a happy, healthy-for-me-too pregnancy. In the mean time, it’s a good opportunity to catch up on missed Moscow sermons!

  4. February 24, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Oh, Abes! I’m praying for you…..wish I was closer so I could help you out.

  5. February 25, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Oh no! I’ll be praying that this passes quickly and that you can make it through your day(s) with no emergency room visits.

  6. February 27, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Thanks for your prayers! I was admitted to the hospital yesterday for dehydration and was discharged late in the afternoon feeling much better! I iv-ed me full of fluids and prescribed Zofran for the sickness. I am feeling MUCH better and the baby seems to be quite healthy, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories


