19
Feb
08

baby blankets

First of all, I would like to state for the record that it was foolish of me to think that I could do without my sewing machine for a month. Just foolish. Now that that’s out, let us continue.

I have to apologize for not mentioning this idea in the comments of Abra’s post on baby gift ideas. This is one of my favorite gifts to give, when I have the time. If I can get the flannel on sale (like the $2/yd. it was this weekend) I can usually give two blankets and it costs about $8 for a pretty decent, hand made gift. You can of course add to it with a cute toy or pack of onesies if you want to bulk up the gift a bit, which I do frequently.

Due to the above mentioned foolishness, I cannot yet show you how to make these blankets, but I will put together a little “how-to” once my trusty Viking is back at home. They’re really quite simple actually – sew two big pieces of flannel together. That’s it. I made three of these blankets when B was born and I found them very handy for draping over the baby carrier/car seat thing. They wash well, and she’s still using them to snuggle up under in her crib.

I picked some really bright fabrics this time around, and most of them are going to be made into blankets for a friend of ours who just had a little girl on Sunday. Very girly and very springy (I think).
baby-fabric.jpg
I went ahead and embroidered her name in the corner of one of them…
nicole.jpg
…and it’s a good thing, too, because I’m afraid I might have kept that fabric for myself if I hadn’t put her name on it! As soon as my machine is back at home (probably Saturday or Sunday), I’ll post pictures of the finished products along with a quick how-to.


1 Response to “baby blankets”


  1. February 20, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I would love to hear a quick how-to. We received one of those blankets for Jubilee from a lady at church that makes all the babies one when they’re born, and it’s one of our favorite cozy blankets.


Leave a comment


Categories