15
Feb
08

Pre-natal Workouts?

My computer keyboard up and died a couple days ago, leaving me stranded to a virtual world to be toured by mouse. I’ve become quite good at cut and pasting the web address I needed, but was unable to share our V-day festivities. I did take pictures, though, and I’ll upload them tomorrow. Today I got my dues for babysitting last week and Ben kindly drove Miss O and I to Target to pick up diapers, wipes, baby shampoo, Lysol, and a $9.99 GE keyboard. It does what it’s supposed to do, so I’m happy! We also stopped by House of Tropicals (a really wonderful pet store!) to pick up food for our snakes, Josephine (Ben’s python) and José (Ophelia’s corn snake).

Anyhow, to my question: I was unable to work out at all during my pregnancy with Ophelia. I was working full time and feeling the full force of morning, noon and night sickness. So far, with my new lima bean, I’ve only been a bit woozy whilst changing poopy diapers and grilling particularly fragrant salmon fillets. Of course, it’s still a bit early in the game, but I’m staying positive and planning on exercising for the next 8 months or so until the creature makes its debut. My question is, which dvd workout to use? I was thinking a light cardio twice a week and basic stretches and toning 3 times a week. Ideally, the dvd would have both, but I’m guessing I’ll have to get 2 different movies to cover different styles. Any suggestions?

6 Responses to “Pre-natal Workouts?”


  1. 1 bethanyjirak
    February 16, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I’m pregnant with my fifth child and am hoping to continue running a couple of times a week (for awhile anyway) but I’m thinking of getting this for the strengthening part – – Pilates in Pregnancy by Lindsey Jackson. Pilates is a good workout when I’m not pregnant and it seems like it would strengthen all those core parts that need to be strengthened when I am pregnant. Congratulations on the new little one.

  2. 2 ncmom77
    February 16, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Congratulations on your newest little one! I have three young blessings and have used Leisa Hart’s FitMama Prenatal Workout with all three and found it to be fun and effective to keep toned and feeling good. I also discovered that when the last thing I felt like doing was excersising it was the one thing that made me actually feel better! It has gentle cardio, some yoga, and labor prep. You can do both workouts together, or just one. I usually keep up with my regular workouts until about 4-5 months then start doing her video and walking when I can. I especially enjoy the yoga workout for stretching my sides and back!

    (Found your link on Femina.. enjoy your blog! Especially the cooking posts!)

  3. February 16, 2008 at 11:43 am

    while i have no suggestions relevant to this post, i feel it my duty as your anal-retentive husband to point out the Jose is not a corn snake, but a pueblan milk snake (apricot colour morph). the late petunia was a corn snake.
    for the record.

    you look great, by the way.

  4. February 16, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Ben, I realized that this morning while i was in the shower and forgot to fix it. Thanks!

  5. February 18, 2008 at 10:34 am

    http://www.amazon.com/Leisa-Harts-FitMama-Prenatal-Workout/dp/B000083C59
    This was my favorite workout video during pregnancy. Though I walked more than anything else.

  6. February 18, 2008 at 10:35 am

    It had Salsa Dance, Yoga Fat Burn, Labor & Delivery Prep, and Prenatal Stretch and Relax. I don’t know if I ever did the whole video all together, but I would do different sections based on how I felt.


Leave a Reply

Categories


