07
Feb
08

Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Twos?

“Just wait until she turns 2!” At the market, in line at McDonald’s, at the playground. Everyone seems to be quite sure that 2 year olds are evil creatures lurking in the distance, preparing to take over the world. Besides these pessimists being horribly depressing, the truth of the matter is, the terrible twos are an old wives tale. Old wives who didn’t deal with the terrible 6, 9, 12, 18, and 20 months. I admit, Ophelia has only been 2 for a couple weeks now (and she’s generally a very mild-mannered little midget), but I haven’t seen anything posses her since she blew out her birthday candles. I haven’t noticed a need to increase the training intensity. I haven’t even noticed an increase in appetite. In fact, we are having more fun then ever. She’s really interacting now. She’s having real conversations with us (provided we can decipher her nearly English). She can pick up her own toys, eat without making a disaster and obey multiple commands. It’s actually been a good deal easier. I’m sure, at some point, she’ll want to test the boundaries again, but she’s been doing that every-other-month or so since she realized she had boundaries to test. As I sit here, listening to my 2 year old wander around the house, singing a song she made up all by herself in a sweetly lilting melody she also made up, “Ophelia, Ooooophelia, OpHELIA, yeahhh, Ophellia, Ophelia……..SHOES!!!!!” I can’t help but feel blessed and aware that the terrible twos are a simply a myth, invented by people who didn’t give their kiddos any rules until they turned two. So as long as you aren’t that person, why be intimidated?

1 Response to “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Twos?”


  1. 1 darrensgirl
    February 8, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Hello!
    I’ve been visiting your blog for a few months and thought I’d actually say howdy. I totally agree with your take on toddlerhood. I prefer to think of two-year-olds as the TEACHABLE twos! You are right when you talk about how fun it is. I’ve actually had five two-year-olds through the years with another little guy who is ten weeks old. I love watching them blossom and grow. Wait until you have teenagers. Once again, people assume the worst, but I’m having a ball with my 13 and 15 year olds. Enjoy each season of life, for each is precious and passes so quickly.


Leave a Reply

Categories


