07
Feb
08

Potty Training?

Ok, so I’m starting to think about potty training O. Suggestions, please?

6 Responses to “Potty Training?”


  1. February 7, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Ooh, ooh, ooh, me too! B has gotten to the point where she’ll say, “New diapo?” right before she fills her diaper, so we know that she knows what’s going on. We’ve put her on the potty a number of times, but she just thinks its a fun little game. How do we teach them the point of it all? Our next step is to start a potty schedule in which we will make trips to the bathroom every twenty minutes to try. Admittedly, it is my laziness that keeps bumping that step back.

  2. 2 swingerofbirches
    February 7, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Well, L is only 10 months so I have zero potty training experience. However, my friends who have actually accomplished this mighty feat have suggested that a regular routine of sitting on the potty helps, as Besty suggested. I think they started out heading to the bathroom on a regular basis (maybe every hour at first?) and just hanging out on the potty–they sing, read books, talk, etc.

    The second thing that really spurred them on to victory was a little basket full of tiny presents (think dollar store type items) all wrapped up neatly in wrapping paper. Whenever they actually were productive on the potty, they got to pick out a little gift, with much hoopla and hurrah, as you can imagine. Others have gone more low key and purchased sheets of interesting stickers and allowed them to place a sticker on the potty every time they tried.

    I imagine various methods are more helpful for various personalities, but those little tips are recurring themes as I ask my talented friends what worked for their families. ๐Ÿ™‚ Before you know it I’ll be at this stage myself, so I am also interested in hearing thoughts!

  3. February 7, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    * Use bribery (sorry–rewards :-)). I used M&M’s for all three of mine.
    * Invest in Pull-Ups–they are worth the cost.
    * Don’t rush it–it’ll happen!

  4. February 7, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    For us, nakedness helped. ๐Ÿ™‚ We worked on this when I was very sick early in my pregnancy and since we stayed at home pretty much all day, I just stripped Aletheia and let her go about her playing in the nude. Yes, we have mostly hardwood floors downstaris, so I wasn’t too worried if she had an accident. At the point we started potty training, she had been telling us on occasion that she needed to use the potty, but with no real consistency. Without the backup feeling of wearing a diaper, she was very aware that when she needed to go, she needed to tell us. For Aletheia, it only took a day or two of the nudity and she transferred to big girl undies for day-time.

    We used Jelly Belly beans as her treat incentive. One for #1, 2 for #2. It was a mixed bag of colors & flavors, so half the fun was her picking which color she was going to have. Also the big incentive I mentioned to her every time we made a trip to the potty was the promise of big girl undies. After a week of her being successful 95% percent of the time, we made a big deal of going undie shopping on her daddy’s day off. She was so proud of what she called her “princy(princess) panties” and we haven’t had many accidents since.

    She still wears a diaper at night, but it’s never wet. When the last of the diapers she was in is gone, then we’ll probably switch to undies at night too.

    Accidents mainly occur when I don’t watch her cues. She still tells me when she needs to go, but sometimes I notice her doing the potty dance while she’s engrossed in play and she doesn’t tell me ’til it happening right then! If I see her dancing, we make a little trip to the potty and are usually successful.
    The one time I couldn’t do anything about getting her to the bathroom was when we were grocery shopping! I was in line and had my groceries in the cart, already rung up, when she told me she had to go, I ran my cc as fast as I could and was signing when she wet herself. Poor thing felt so awful. Thankfully they have paper towels at the counter and I just took them and cleaned up the mess and went out to the car. There was a huge line of people behind me! You never know what you’re going to encounter as a mom. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. February 7, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Oh, and we do have a special potty chair that’s upstairs, which she uses on her own now, but during the training period, we use what we have downstairs. It’s basically a little seat that fits on the regular toilet. The type we have can be found at Walmart. I didn’t have enough energy to clean out the little chair when I was so sick, so it was a huge blessing to just put her on the potty and then be able to flush as normal.

  6. 6 kyriosity
    February 7, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    I’ll never forget last Valentine’s Day, I was at the Hs’ house, and Chipi put on the entire pack of big-girl panties she’d received — about six pairs one on top of the other! She was just so proud!


Leave a Reply

Categories


