05
Feb
08

loving our families

I don’t know about you, but with Valentine’s Day approaching, I’m looking for fun ways to celebrate with my little family. Little B and I will spend an afternoon making cards for Papa soon – we still have a stash of glitter, glue, construction paper, paper doilies, and fun sheet foam to work with from last year. There will be a red and white candlelight dinner for Andrew and B and I, and then champagne and chocolate for Andrew and I when B has hit the sack. There will be a store-bought card or two, some extra candy, and some gifts for everyone. So, I’m wondering what your traditions are. What are your ideas for loving your family this February 14th? The more fun ideas we get, the more likely I am to tell you all what was hiding in the diaper wipes container a few years ago on Valentines Day (the story will probably come out anyway, I just thought I’d throw in a little bribe there – It makes things more fun).

3 Responses to “loving our families”


  1. February 6, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I was thinking about making baked chicken with lots of cheese. Romantic? Not really, but it makes the husband very happy.

  2. February 6, 2008 at 11:09 am

    We don’t have any official plans. We usually find a babysitter for O and Ben takes me out. This year I’m thinking a thriftier option would be ideal. I’m looking forward to hearing all your ideas.

  3. 3 swingerofbirches
    February 6, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I love Valentine’s Day! For some reason it’s one of the “minor” holidays that I find extra delightful.

    If I’m able to, I usually like to fix a fun breakfast for us. And I always make little cream puffs to accompany the morning’s feast (I make them the day before and keep them in the fridge all dainty and appealing. They are SO easy, as you all probably well know. And not expensive but very fancy-like, the better to celebrate with). And I scatter little chocolate hearts and kisses around the table, just to make it more festive. I like sending John off to work with an extra special breakfast.

    Also, may I just say Valentine’s Day cookies! My husband is a fan of the simple sugar cookie with icing, so L and I will be making these together this year. We pull out the cookie cutters and go to town and don’t worry about the mess on the kitchen counter.

    We do go out for dinner; we have also stayed in and I fix a fun dinner or we have simply gone out for dessert when we were after something a little thriftier.

    I haven’t gotten into the swing of special decorations yet, but I think those would be fantastic to add to my domestic specialties. Generally I just try to make sure things are clean and fresh and cheerful and break out the special red candles.

    We also exchange gifts (which vary in size depending on budgetary matters at the time). This year we’ve gotten L two little board books from the “Mini Masters” series, which showcase a particular artist’s work (Monet, for instance) on each page with a little story to go along. As she is just 10 months she’s really really into turning pages and chewing on her little board books so we think it is just the thing.

    Anyhow, all of that is what we are looking forward to and what works well for us. Our schemes have changed a bit over time, here and there, to accomodate for where we were at and what we were up for. Most of all it certainly is wonderful to have the opportunity to celebrate such things. Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Categories


