29
Jan
08

Ideas?

Lots of my friends have been having babies lately.
What are some affordable/sheik ideas for new mommies?

And, while we are at it…

Congrats to Shannon H., Monica C., Kristen B., and Grace P.!

4 Responses to “Ideas?”


  1. 1 kyriosity
    January 29, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    No sheiks…they might want extra wives. And as for chic…sorry, I only do spelling, not fashion! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. January 30, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Well, depending on if you’re near the mommy, you might want to make up some creative gift certificates offering your time. This way it won’t be expensive for you, e.g. grocery shopping, baby sitting (especially if they have older toddlers), spring yard clean-up, at-home spa hour certificate (watch the newborn at their home so mommy can take a shower, paint her nails and feel like a woman again), etc.

    If you’re not near, you might find something unique on etsy.com. I’ve seen some great handmade baby items on etsy that are hard to find in my town unless you’re looking at an expensive boutique. Burb cloths, diaper/wipe travel case, felt booties, hair clips. Many of the sellers are using mod colors & prints that are often not offered in mainstream stores.

    And etsy also has one-of-a-kind pieces of jewelry (earrings are especially affordable) that mommy might like.

    I personally loved having a new nightie for after baby was born. Something that was stretchy and comfortable with easy access for nursing (but not a nursing gown). Like a cottony/lycra slip with spaghetti straps. This would be inexpensive to mail and I’m sure there are lots of places online to find them.

    I’ll see if I can think of more…it’s late and I should be sleeping. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. January 30, 2008 at 3:27 am

    sadly, none of these ladies are local (there tend to be a shortage of new babies in this area :-() I saw some really lovely burp cloths on etsy that I was seriously contemplating. I was also thinking of buying the babies initials in the 4X6 bird letters from PaulaBirdy. I like to buy new moms cute/comfy undies and chemises but since I don’t know what size they are anymore and, of course, it gets to be to expensive, I’m forced to find a new idea. Thanks for the help!


Leave a Reply

Categories


