25
Jan
08

calling all comments…

Okay ladies, it’s time to contribute your two cents. I got my fabric all cut out last night as planned and I’m laying it out today. It’s turning out a little differently than I’d expected, i.e. the small print of the in-between fabric seems to be taking over. I keep reminding myself that when it’s actually pieced together (accounting for the seam allowances) the ratio of big squares of pretty fabric to little strips of tiny print fabric will be greater, but I’m still nervous. I don’t think it helps that I was planning on bordering the quilt with more of the tiny print fabric. I’m thinking now that I should choose one of the larger prints to use for the border, and I’m also considering making the in-between strips different. By different, I mean rather than a two inch wide strip of the tiny print in between all the big squares, I would do 3 strips of 3/4″ wide-ish fabric with the tiny print fabric as the 2 outside strips and a pink paisley as the middle strip.

Now, you don’t have to be a quilter to give your two cents. You just have to be able to look at things and tell me what you think about them. Is it too busy? Does it need some more dark pink to bring out the prints? I’m trying to avoid the ‘painfully earnest floral phase’/Laura Ashley look and going for more of a cute/whimsical/slightly-vintagey/cheerful girl look.

quilt-1.jpgquilt-2.jpg

I should mention that I ran out of the in-between fabric, so that white that you see shouldn’t be there, that’s just the felt I’m laying it out on. The close-up shot is to give you an idea of what it looks like when you only see it with the in-between fabric in place.

8 Responses to “calling all comments…”


  1. January 25, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I think it’s good (and that’s saying a lot coming from me. I have thus far avoided all floral prints in my home…it’s just not my thing ;-)). I would put a brighter boarder on the outside, though. Very pretty. You’re amazing. I’m afraid I lack the patience for this art.

  2. 2 paraph
    January 26, 2008 at 9:59 am

    I actually like the side of the quilt with the white showing through, with the small print squares at the corners. I think I would use either white or a small print with a white background for the strips to keep from overwhelming the larger squares. And I would definitely use more of the white/pink, white/green large print – maybe as the binding? – for a more mod look. Very cool.

  3. 3 kyriosity
    January 26, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Truth be told, I actually like the section with the white! I think it makes the squares “pop” — the contrast is much more eye-catching. Perhaps another, similar small-print fabric with a white background would work instead of solid white.

    Also, I don’t know if that’s your final arrangement of the squares, but the first column (looking at the photo as if it were a table) is too uniform (yellow, pink, yellow, pink) compared with the others, which have more variation.

    And maybe, as Abra says, a contrasting border, perhaps picking up a dark pink.

    The color combination overall is great. Looks like a fun project…to watch somebody else do, that is. 😉 So I’ll look forward to seeing your progress!

  4. 4 kyriosity
    January 26, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Jinx! (Paraph’s post wasn’t there, for the record, when I wrote mine.)

  5. January 27, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Huh. Funny, I never would have thought of that! I’ll definitely see if I can find a small print with a white background. I was also thinking of putting a dark pink in for the corner squares (the little 2″ ones), just to bring out the pink in the other prints. And Paraph, I think you’re right, it needs more of the pink/white and green/white fabrics (although they’re actually both on a light blue background) – those stand out nicely while all the other florals kind of blend together. *sigh* So much to think about!!! Thanks ladies!


Leave a Reply

Categories


