24
Jan
08

Eating Disorders

I found these articles very interesting when I was researching. The first one addressed my particular fears completely and helped me refocus my priorities. It can be such a battle to maintain a healthy outlook about our maternal figures when the pressure to unhealthily thin is so strong. Remember that a beautiful body is a healthy body. God gave you those curves. Embrace them.

____________________________________________________________

Back to bulimic
Taken from Today’s Christian Woman

Q: “I’m 27, married, and the mom of four. When I was a teen, I battled bulimia and anorexia. Although I feel God cured me of my eating disorders, now that I’m trying to lose the weight I gained after four pregnancies, I’m concerned I may relapse. Is this common?”

A: It is. After all, you’re probably tempted to find a shortcut to a prepregnancy body after having four babies in short succession. It’s also possible that with four young ones to care for, your life feels a little out of control. Attempting to control your weight may be one way you relieve your anxiety about that.

I encourage you to think about what function an eating disorder serves for you. Understanding its purpose will help you battle it more effectively. For example, when you were a teen, the odds are high your eating disorder had more to do with some other issue than simply your body weight. I suspect whatever that was has cropped up again and needs your attention.

Since you don’t want to model eating-disorder behaviors for your watching children, keep yourself from getting locked into this destructive pattern again. If the struggle intensifies or you begin to fall back into old habits, seek help in the ways that benefited you before—counseling or a support group.

____________________________________________________________

Mom’s Body Image

Author: Lori Henry
Published: November 17, 2006 Mothers play a large role in shaping the behaviour of their daughters and sons

“It’s shown that mom’s who diet all the time and are chronic dieters will have daughters who may start dieting as early as age 9 or 10,” said Sonia Angel, a dietician with Memorial Hospital, or even spawning an eating disorder.

Young teenagers and children look up to their parents for guidance and eating habits are a common behaviour to emulate, whether conscious or not.

“There are certain foods they may not like but they will like others,” said Angel. “Prepare things differently because maybe they don’t like something raw but they’ll like something cooked, and vice versa.”

Ways to help young children retain a positive body image:

– don’t diet

– don’t focus on food as good or bad

speak positively about your own body in front of them (and with yourself, too!)

– don’t focus on weight and calories

– don’t value fad dieting above good ol’ common nutrition

____________________________________________________________

Also check out this site for some great tips on how to avoid a relapse.

3 Responses to “Eating Disorders”


  1. January 24, 2008 at 11:57 am

    I would also highly recommend a free website like fitday.com or mypyramidtracker.gov to track your diet and nutritional intake. I ‘diet’ frequently, but it’s “eat healthy dieting” rather than “weight loss dieting”. Of course, healthy dieting will most likely lead to weight loss in the majority of women, but it’s also important to model for our kids the importance of eating right and not gorging on just whatever they want to eat. If you want something a little more in depth, you can get a program like Diet Analysis Plus on Amazon for about $15, and I’ve found that to work pretty well (you can customize your needs a little more on there, too, i.e. pregnancy or nursing diet needs).

    I noticed in high school that my friends whose mothers dieted, dieted. Those whose moms constantly asked how they looked, constantly asked how they looked. It’s amazing how easy it is to track a teenager’s body image and eating habits to her parents, particularly her mother.

  2. January 24, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    This is one topic I have thought and prayed hard about. Thank you for the good (Godly) reminders!

  3. January 24, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I couldn’t get pregnant till I gained weight and stopped starving myself. Besides the desire to be healthy and have children, not wanting my daughters to have go through something unhealthy like that is definitely a good reminder to have the right attitude and speech about food and weight and thinness or curviness. Getting married also helped: God made men to like their wife’s body, not what Hollywood says is the right body.


Leave a Reply

Categories


