23
Jan
08

coffee question

here’s a question for all you die-hard coffee drinking fans out there. We’re looking for a new grinder, and we’re most concerned with how evenly it grinds. We have this grinder now, and have a really hard time not ending up with half or even whole beans mixed in with our fine grounds. We’re looking in the $40 or less range. Any tips? What works for you? What doesn’t work?
40_full.jpg

5 Responses to “coffee question”


  1. 1 bethanyjirak
    January 23, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I just recently found your blog – I’ve been enjoying it! If you want your coffee to grind evenly, a burr grinder is definitely the way to go. The blade grinders generally don’t give a consistently even grind. Whereas the burr grinders works differently so it will grind evenly and to the consistency of your choice (i.e., a little more coarse for french press). Unfortunately, there aren’t many good burr grinders for $40 and under. If someone finds a good one, I’m all ears too! I’ve read before that you get what you pay for in the way of burr grinders.

  2. January 23, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Y’know, I was afraid of that. Evenness and consistency are important because we use the stove top espresso maker and the french press (so we need fine and coarse, like you mentioned). I guess I’ll start looking at burr grinders, maybe there’s one with a price tag we can stomach! Oh, and glad you’re enjoying the blog!! 🙂

  3. January 23, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Abra, that’s actually the one I was thinking of if I couldn’t find anything better. It’s rated fairly well on Amazon, and I think it’s the one my parents used to have and they liked it. Either that or it’s the one we had before getting the cuisinart, and we didn’t like it. Aagh! Being picky can be such a burden.

  4. January 23, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I bought this burr grinder from Abondante Living (for $39.95 plus shipping) about six months ago and have been quite happy with it.

    Pros:
    * Grinds evenly. You can set how fine or course you want your coffee on a scale of 1-19.

    * Large capacity. You can fit lots more beans than the little push button Brauns (which is what we had before). That comes in handy when you have guests over and need to make a big pot of coffee or two.

    * Supposedly the burr grinder is better for your coffee than the blade kind, though I don’t really know if it makes a difference.

    Cons:
    * It’s sort of a pain to clean. Because I grind the coffee very finely, it builds up around the hole where the ground coffee comes out. I have a plastic knife I use to clean off the build up every day or two, so it isn’t a real big deal.

    * You have to make sure the plastic ground coffee holder is securely in place or you will end up with ground coffee sprayed all over the counter! I’ve done that several times.

    Still, all in all,l I give it a thumbs-up.


Leave a Reply

Categories


