14
Jan
08

asian style dinner

My husband had a very long Saturday, so the kiddo and I wanted to welcome him home with a great dinner. It started with this recipe, and I just kind of ran with the Asian theme and pulled out chopsticks, green tea in little cups, and my little Japanese plates. I did not actually use the chopsticks, but my husband is absolutely amazing with them and managed to finish his dinner before me (I was using a fork), all while managing to fill me in on his busy day!

This is a pretty easy recipe, and it only takes a while because you have to cook the rice for nearly an hour. It is from FOOD magazine again, and I was very pleased with it. I’ve never used fresh ginger in such a large quantity, and I really enjoyed the sweet spiciness that it added.

asian-dinner.jpg

brown-rice bowl with shrimp, snow peas, and avocado

coarse salt and ground pepper
1 cup long-grain brown rice
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons light-brown sugar
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound peeled and deveined medium shrimp, thawed if frozen
1/2 pound snow peas, trimmed and halved on the diagonal
1 piece (1 inch long) fresh ginger, peeled and cut into matchsticks
1 avocado, pitted and cut into chunks

In a large saucepan, bring 2 cups salted water to a boil. Add rice; cover, reduce heat to low, and cook until rice is tender and water is absorbed, 45 to 50 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl or liquid measuring cup, stir together soy sauce, lemon juice, vinegar, and sugar until sugar is dissolved. Set sauce aside.

When rice has finished cooking, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Add shrimp, snow peas, and ginger; season with salt and pepper. Cook until shrimp are opaque throughout and snow peas are bright green, 2 to 3 minutes.

Divide rice among four bowls. Top with shrimp mixture and avocado; serve sauce on the side.

2 Responses to “asian style dinner”


  1. January 17, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Hi there, what is the color on the wall in this picture??? I love it, I want it in my living room!

  2. 2 Betsy
    January 17, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    It’s actually a really light sage green – a lot bluer in reality (it looks avacado-ish here). I have no idea what the color is actually called!


Leave a Reply

Categories


