03
Jan
08

Pasta Machines?

I’m toying with the idea of purchasing a pasta machine. I figure we eat a lot of pasta, and this way I could make it all whole wheat and keep myself occupied at the same time. I don’t know anything about them and am at the mercy of eager sales-persons. Does anyone have advise on this subject?

(Grill and spring form pans, a pastry scraper, a zester, and a tartelette set are also on my list of desirable kitchen tools.)

3 Responses to “Pasta Machines?”


  1. January 3, 2008 at 8:18 am

    No advice, but if you get it, I would love to hear how it works out for you. If it will indeed make good whole wheat noodles, I’ll have to get one someday. All my noodles are pronounced ‘good but too thick.’

  2. 2 Betsy
    January 3, 2008 at 9:20 am

    No tips on the pasta machine (although have you seen that they have ones that attach to your kitchenaid mixer?), but I can’t live without my grill and springform pans and my zester. I have a $9 non-stick grill pan from Ross and it has done quite well – I just stick it in the dishwasher and all the gunk comes right off! My mom has a Le Creuset grill pan that she got on clearance at La Bella Vita and she is absolutely in love with it. I have a pastry scraper and never use it because it’s just not worth it to dirty another cooking utensil. I also have a tartlette set that still has the labels on it (I got it as a wedding gift). If you get sprinform pans, I’d suggest that you get 2 or 3 of the same size (9″ or so), because they make layer cakes really easy (it’s really easy to get consistently straight sides from a springform pan, which is important for layer cakes). Anyway, hope some of that helps!

  3. January 4, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I think my mom got hers at Ross (or on sale at Macy’s) and it has worked well for years. I don’t think we put it in the dishwasher, though. Having done it quite a few times when I was growing up, I can tell you that pasta-making is a lot faster and more fun as a two-person project: one person to turn the crank, and another to feed the dough through and pull it out the other side. It’s possible to do it yourself, but it will be a bit on the frustrating side since your lovely fresh noodles dump in a heap on the counter unless you can catch them.

    The only real tip I have is to not put your uncooked noodles in a big pile or they will all stick to each other…we used to hang them over a portable clothes drying rack until we had finished a batch, and then tossed them all in the pot at the end.

    Oh, and make sure the one you get has a clamp so that you can clamp it to your table or counter. Otherwise, it moves when you turn the crank.


Leave a Reply

Categories


