30
Dec
07

hot chocolate shortcut

With the arrival of my new milk frother (can you tell I love this thing?), my quest for the perfect cup of hot yumminess has been renewed. I followed the recipe for hot chocolate in one of the Barefoot Contessa cookbooks which was pretty similar to Abra’s, but I paid close attention to the type of chocolate I used. I used about a quarter cup of shaved semi-sweet baking chocolate (the kind you buy in chunks at the store), and a piece of Ghirardelli milk chocolate that I’d chopped up. I must say, it was quite good. I’m a huge dark chocolate fan (the darker the better!!!), so if you’re a little skittish around the darker stuff, I’d suggest giving it more milk chocolate (you can buy chunks of the milk chocolate at the store too that would shave well). From what I understand, the chunks for baking have less wax in them than chocolate chips do, so that is one of the things that makes them better (who really wants to drink hot wax?!). My shortcut here is to shave up whole chunks at a time, and then keep it in a ziploc baggie in the fridge. I know it’s not a great shortcut, but it certainly makes it easier to enjoy a good cup of steaming chocolatiness whenever you want!
chocolate-shavings.jpg

1 Response to “hot chocolate shortcut”


  1. December 31, 2007 at 7:32 am

    I think my husband would appreciate something like that in our ‘fridge. He’s a bigger fan of real hot chocolate than I am. (It’s not that I’m apathetic, it’s just that I don’t care, as they say.) However, shaved chocolate is a beautiful sight. I’ll even eat unsweetened shaved chocolate by itself. It has a beautiful chocolate taste even without sugar.


Leave a Reply

Categories


