29
Nov
07

Keeping Your Head

I was recently reminded that is it good thing to take a mom time-out every now and then. It has been a rather bumpy week with adjusting back into the swing of non-vacation life and illness (anyone have good remedies for colds?). My sanity felt like it was being washed out to sea with every wave of responsibility. Admittedly, my attitude wasn’t helping anyone, either. Housewives just can’t allow themselves to be basket cases. If mom crumbles, so does everyone else! I knew it was time to bring out the big guns: after Ophelia had been bed down for the night, and Ben was fed and grading papers, I broke out the champagne that Kat gave me for my birthday (last October). I located my hidden stash of leftover Hershey’s kisses from Halloween and settled down in my favorite chair with a book and the remote. I read for a bit and then watched That Touch of Mink on TCM. I may have lost an hour or so of sleep I would have had if I hadn’t pampered myself, but I was a much stronger, happier person for it the next day.

1 Response to “Keeping Your Head”


  1. 1 Betsy
    November 29, 2007 at 9:17 am

    amen to that!


Leave a Reply

Categories


