29
Nov
07

exuberant dough

I’ve begun making all of our bread here at home, rather than buying it in the stores. Every week (we go through about two loaves every 5-7 days) I modify the recipe a little. I’ve found the ratio of about two-thirds white flour to one-third whole wheat flour results in the most ‘wheatiness’ while maintaining optimum ‘pouffy-ness’. This week, my husband mentioned that he’d like it if it were a little less sweet and a little more ‘hearty’. So I added a quarter cup of oat bran and a quarter cup of flax seed and omitted the sprinkling of sugar on the top of the loaves. He loves it! I can’t really tell a difference in the taste (except that it’s maybe a little less sweet), but for some reason it was a little more enthusiastic during its rising periods, so it was nice and airy and light, despite being ‘heartier’. Here is its enthusiasm, captured on film (or SD card, as the case may be):
dough1.jpg
And in an effort to teach my daughter the joys of the kitchen, I let her do the fun stuff, like punch down the dough. For a nearly-two-year-old, I think she did a stand-up job of it with her little fist.
punched.jpg

3 Responses to “exuberant dough”


  1. 1 jpm14
    November 29, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Hello there! Visiting via N. Wilson’s blog. I make all our bread from Western NY wheat and ground here in the basement. If you desire to use more whole wheat flour and still have ‘pouffy’ dough, add some gluten. The soft winter wheat I use needs about 1/2 cup gluten per 2.5 cups of flour. I use all whole wheat flour. Gluten is protein and forms a matrix to trap the CO2 the yeast produces–which translates into a nice rise.
    Deborah at http://www.upsaid.com/jpm14

  2. 2 Betsy
    November 29, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks! I’ll have to try that! I’m going to see what other fun ‘seedy’ things I can scrounge up for the next batch too.


Leave a Reply

Categories


