19
Nov
07

first snow

Yesterday we had our first snow and it was quite exciting. My daughter learned how to say “snow!” and did not stop saying it all day long (it was actually pretty cute). Amazingly enough, it stuck around until this morning, and this is what we woke up to:
first-snow.jpg
Like I said, quite exciting. There’s nothing like the first snow to really get you in that holiday spirit. And on that note, I’d like to pass on a little tip for the holidays. Are you a hard one to shop for? Do you drool when you get the latest Crate & Barrel or Pottery Barn catalog? One word solution: Registry!! I know, I know, people think ‘wedding’ when they hear registry, but all those great stores will let you register for other holidays too! My friend Katie introduced me to this concept over the summer when she’d registered for her birthday, so I went ahead and did the same thing for this Christmas. I suppose that there are some people out there who could see the whole registry thing as presumptuous, but my family loves it (I am one of those hard to shop for people), so I help them out. Plus, out of town gift-givers can have items direct shipped to you, so they don’t have to find room for fragile boxes in their carry-on luggage! Everybody wins!

4 Responses to “first snow”


  1. November 19, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Have you ever heard of http://www.ThingsIWant.com ? That’s where we register as a family (each of us has a separate list). We can rate items in order of importance…must have, love to have, like to have, etc. and everything is included in one place, even though we’ve listed items from all over the net. It’s a very simple system to use and we love it. Just a suggestion we’ve found very helpful.

  2. 2 Betsy
    November 19, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Hey, that’s a cool website! I might have to take advantage of that next year!

  3. 3 swingerofbirches
    November 20, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Ah, as much as I enjoy warm weather I do relish a fine snow now and then…seeing this picture makes me especially miss the Northwest! Now, down here we do get a bit of the white stuff time and again, and when this happens the entire city shuts down like there is no tomorrow. (Hey, they even shut down when there isn’t any snow but merely the suggestion of it! Somehow I thought there actually had to _be_ snow on the ground in order to warrant a so-called “Snow Day” but apparently not. The first time this happened was when we lived in Nashville and I thought my co-workers were joking when they told me the schools were closed. (There was no snow on the ground…!)) Oh well. As for us the 70s and 80s (!) are taking their leave by tomorrow night–we’ll have temps in the 40s just in time for Thanksgiving! I’m so excited.

    I know I’m only adding to the Texas stereotypes by telling these types of tales, but you should hear their stereotypes of the Northwest!! 😉

    Blessings!

  4. 4 Betsy
    November 20, 2007 at 7:43 am

    That’s so funny. But don’t worry – when we lived in Eugene, they’d shut school down if there was a half an inch on the ground. Needless to say, we were very disappointed to come up here and find that rather than closing school, everyone just put a snow plow on the front of their suburban and trudged on through the 3′ drifts. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories


